Will finish in the morning

Testing responsive websites

A whiteboard with test results in different browsers

As many good fellows have already noticed, it’s not enought to test your responsive creation on an iPhone. You should at least bother to check it on several major platforms: iOS, Android (which has a swarm of different browsers), Windows Phone, Blackberry.

If you are tough enough, all the above is your absolute minimum, which you happily extend with everything that comes to hand.

The more you use the principle of progressive enhancement, proper fallbacks and unobtrusive javascript, the easier it is to test and fix the site on different devices, and the better the site will look on the devices you didn’t event bother to test on.

Briefly about desktop browsers

Windows

First things first, latest stable versions of Firefox, Chrome, Opera, IE, plus Opera 12 (on Presto), that’s all clear. After a year or so Presto engine will be gone for good :-(

The main problem, as usual, comes with IE. IE users are distributed almost evenly between three version of the browser. You can’t install several version of IE on the same system, different “IE testers” are all crap. Even if they work, they still don’t show native XP font rendering and form elements.

The solution here is to have a bunch of virtual machines. Grab VirtualBox, clone two winXP machines, give ’em 196 Mb of RAM and install latest IE7 and IE8. It’s, actually, a good time to send IE7 to the dump, but I keep it for rare ocasions, since some of my scripts support it and I need to test new builds once in a while.

Clone another two machines running Win 7 (give ’em 512 Mb of RAM) and install IE9 and IE10. All this stuff works simultaneously pretty effortlessly:

Whe-e-e-e!
Whe-e-e-e!

I still hope IE’s autoupdate (it was introduced in IE10) will make the difference some day and we won’t need to keep all this VMs. It’s not the case as of now.

Linux & Mac

It’s also worth having a VM with some linux distributive and, if possible, a Mac would also be good. Same browsers have significant differences when it comes to rendering system specific stuff, such as fonts, form elements and cursors.

Mobile devices

The main rule here: if it’s possible to test on a real device – test on a device. Here’s a couple of reasons:

My initial idea to buy a device working on each of the popular operating systems (iOS, Android, Windows Phone) realized and turned into gathering of rare devices with browser on board.

My collection now contains Kindle Keyboard and Kindle Paperwhite with their grayscale webkits, Nokia Asha 501 (a phone on modified S40 with horrible Ovi browser and not so horrible Opera Mini working on Java), Nintendo DSi bought after reading this article, Nintendo 3DS, PS Vita and lots of other rare and not so rare stuff.

The swarm
The swarm

It’s important to note, though, that any large project can’t be properly tested on all of them. The main goal here is not to support each and every device, but to properly optimize the site, make it adaptive in a flexible way. The site shouldn’t necessarily work equally on each device, but it’s important to ensure the availability of content and get rid of the nastiest bugs, possibly avoiding UA sniffing (although it’s hard at times).

The possibility to touch and test your project on different devices gives valuable information on the adequacy of the UI, availability of necessary fallbacks, typical bugs encountered on different devices, etc. All this allows you to create good universal development patterns and apply them in the future, reducing the need for testing to a minimum.

Where to test

Mandatory:

Bonus pack in order of subjective importance:

For fun:

Where to get the emulators

Debugging on mobile devices

Android

In the stock browser, type about:debug in the adress bar. This will lead to a new debug section appearing in the browser’s settings with a bunch of dev options in it, including concole.

In Android Chrome, you can use remote debugging:

Now you have full webkit devtools at your disposal. All the interactions are displayed on the device in real-time:

Changes are displayed in real-time

iOS

If you happen to have a Mac, you can debug an iOS device remotely via Safari’s web inspector:

Just like on Android, full devtools are available.

Blackberry

Blackberry has remote debugging via web-based webkit devtools:

Web-based webkit devtools work properly only in webkit-based browsers.

Remote debugging in Blackberry browser
Remote debugging in Blackberry browser

Jsconsole.com

Great tool allowing you to remotely debug almost any device. All you need to do is to inject a script containing a unique ID (preferably before the rest of the scripts, so you won’t miss any logs and errors), and you got yourself a console with error output and remote command execution. Don’t forget to remove the script from production!

Read detailed official docs.

Your own console

If using jsconsole is inconvenient for some reason, you can always write your own console. Just redefine console.log, console.warn, console.error, window.onerror and something else to your taste. You’ll get a fairly simple tool which is sufficient in most cases.

Here’s a simple example:

var customConsole = {
    log: function(message) {
        this.add(message, 'info');
    },
    warn: function(message) {
        this.add(message, 'warning');
    },
    error: function(message, source, file) {
        this.add([message, source, file].join('<br>'), 'error');
    },
    add: function(message, type) {
        if (typeof message !== 'string') message = '<i>' + message + '</i>';
        document.getElementById('console').innerHTML += '<p class=' + type + '>' + message + '</p>';
    }
}

if (dev_console) {
    window.console = customConsole;
    window.onerror = function(message, source, file) {
        console.error(message, source, file);
    };
}

Modify it to your own taste and needs.

Testing a website running on a local web server on mobile devices

The easiest way is to connect everithing to the same WiFi router. You should also set fixed IP adress for your computer, since it have a tendency to change unexpectadly and make all of your mobile bookmarks useless. Then use this very IP in your webserver’s config, e. g. enginx:

server {
    ...

    listen   192.168.1.5:4000;
    listen   127.0.0.1:4000;

    ...
}

That’s it, check out the site from your mobile devices.

If the web server is running on a virtual machine, make a bridge connection (in the VM’s settings). VM will get an IP in the routers subnet, use it to access the site both from mobile devices and from the host OS.

Testing in proxy browsers

That is Opera Mini. And Ovi, if you are desperate enough.

The problem with proxy browser is that you can’t test your site on a local server, since it should be visible on the internet.

My approach here is to create a test subdomain with http authentication on the hosting server and pull current version of the site using git once in a while. The site will be accessible by proxy browsers and remain password protected at the same time. An example config for http authentication (for Apache this time):

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ...

    <Location />
        Deny from all
        Allow from #YOUR IP HERE
        AuthUserFile /etc/apache2/users
        AuthName testdomain
        AuthType Basic
        Satisfy Any
        require valid-user
    </Location>

    ...
</VirtualHost>

You can put your IP after Allow from to simplify the access to the domain from regular browsers.

You can read apache docs on adding user/password pairs to the http auth. Long story short, htpasswd -cm /etc/apache2/users username will ask you for the password, then create a file at the specified path and add a user username with MD5-encrypted password. Be careful, as the -c flag rewrites the existing file.

TL;DR

Test your sites on a maximum number of available devices and emulators. Use new HTML5 features and specific device capabilities, but don’t forget about proper fallbacks and broad content availability.

Published on

Утром доделаю

Тестирование адаптивных сайтов

Доска с результатами теста сайта в различных браузерах

Как правильно замечают многие хорошие ребята, проверить работоспособность вашего адаптивного творения на айфончике недостаточно. Как минимум, стоит озаботиться несколькими основными платформами: iOS, Android (а там свой зоопарк браузеров), Windows Phone, Blackberry.

Если вы Лев Толстой не только на словах, то все перечисленное — ваш обязательный минимум, который вы радостно расширяете любыми попадающимися под руку железками и эмуляторами.

Чем больше вы используете принцип прогрессивного улучшения, грамотные фоллбеки и ненавязчивый javascript, тем проще тестировать и исправлять сайт на всем зоопарке железок, и тем лучше сайт будет выглядеть там, где вы его даже не задумывались протестировать.

Коротко про десктопные браузеры

Windows

Первым делом — последние стабильные версии Firefox, Chrome, Opera, Safari, IE, плюс Opera 12, с этим все ясно. Через годик-полтора о 12 Опере и движке Presto можно будет забыть насовсем :-(

Основной затык, как всегда, с IE. Юзеры почти равномерно размазаны по трем версиям браузера. Несколько версий IE держать в системе нельзя, всякие ИЕ-тестеры — лажа. Даже если заработают, родной икспишный рендеринг шрифтов с их помощью увидеть не получится.

Выход — ставим VirtualBox, клонируем три виртуалки с winXP, отдаем им по 192 Mb оперативки и ставим, соответственно, 6, 7 и 8 осликов. IE6 я лично держу для всяких редких случаев. На его полноценную поддержку я давно забил.

IE7 тоже пора отправлять на свалку, но обычно вся его поддержка заканчивается пятью правилами в стилях и подключением фоллбека для иконочных шрифтов. Все остальные фоллбеки применяются и к IE8, который все еще приходится поддерживать.

Делаем еще одну виртуалку на Win 7 (512 Mb оперативки) и ставим туда IE9. Все это хозяйство замечательно летает параллельно:

Уи-и-и-и
Уи-и-и-и

Надеюсь, автообновление IE10 избавит меня от еще одной виртуалки, когда выйдет IE11. Пока что не избавило.

По желанию можно поставить какой-нибудь Firefox 3.6. Часто помогает отловить простые баги, связанные с использованием новых свойств CSS. Обычно легко фиксится фоллбеком на старые свойства. Этакая проверка на Graceful Degradation.

Linux & Mac

Стоит также иметь виртуалку с каким-нибудь дистрибутивом Линукса, и, если есть возможность, ухватить железку с OS X. Отличия рендеринга в одних и тех же браузерах в разных системах незначительны, пока дело не доходит до системных компонентов. Например, значительно отличается поведение элементов форм, рендеринг шрифтов и внешний вид курсоров.

Мобильные устройства

Первое правило: есть возможность тестировать на железке, а не на эмуляторе, — тестируйте на железке. Вот пара причин:

Моя первоначальная идея купить по устройству на каждой из популярных операционных систем (iOS, Android, Windows Phone) осуществилась и переросла в собирательство редких девайсов с браузером на борту.

Так в коллекции появились Kindle Keyboard и Kindle Paperwhite со своими черно-белыми вебкитами, Nokia Asha 501 (мобилка на модифицированной S40 с ужасным Ovi браузером и не такой ужасной Оперой мини на JAVA), Nintendo DSi, купленная после прочтения вот этой статьи, и много других железок.

Зоопарк
Зоопарк

Тут важно отметить, что любой крупный проект будет практически нереально протестировать на всем этом зверинце. Основная цель — не поддержка каждого устройства с его набором багов в отдельности, а грамотная оптимизация сайта. При этом сайт вовсе не обязательно должен работать на всех устройствах одинаково. Достаточно обеспечить доступность контента и избавиться от самых противных багов, по возможности избегая сниффинга (хотя это и не всегда возможно).

Возможность потрогать и потестировать свои проекты на разных девайсах позволяет увидеть, где не хватает того или иного фоллбека в функционале или оформлении, какие типичные баги можно легко пофиксить и т. п. Все это позволяет выработать хорошие и универсальные паттерны разработки и применять их в дальнейшем, сводя необходимость тестирования к минимуму.

Покупайте девайсы, отбирайте старье у друзей, заказывайте редкие штуки на dx.com и ебее. Разводите свой зоопарк.

На чем тестировать

Обязательный набор:

Бонус-пак в порядке субъективной важности:

For fun:

Где взять эмуляторы

Дебаггинг на мобильных устройствах

Android

В стоковом браузере набираем в адресную строку about:debug. После этого в настройках браузера появляется пункт «Отладка» с разными опциями, в том числе возможностью включить консоль.

В Хроме под Андроидом можно воспользоваться отладкой через десктопный хром:

Получаем полный набор вебкитовских инструментов. Все изменения в реалтайме отображаются на девайсе:

Результат применения девтулзов в Андроид Хроме

iOS

Если вам повезло иметь под рукой Мак, можно подебажить устройство на айОси через веб-инспектор Маковского Сафари:

Так же как и на Андроиде, доступен полный набор вебкитовских инструментов.

Blackberry

На блекберри есть удаленная отладка через веб-версию вебкитовских девтулзов:

Как это не смешно, но панель у меня согласилась нормально работать только в Опере 15:

Удаленный дебаггинг браузера на эмуляторе Blackberry
Удаленный дебаггинг браузера на эмуляторе Blackberry

Jsconsole.com

Отличный инструмент для дебаггинга практически любого девайса. Вставляем на свой сайт скрипт с уникальным айдишником (желательно до запуска остальных скриптов, чтобы не пропустить логи и ошибки), получаем удаленную консоль с выводом ошибок и возможностью выполнять команды. Главное — не забудьте убрать скрипт из продакшена.

Можно почитать подробнее об использовании.

Своя консолька

Если jsconsole использовать по какой-то причине неудобно, всегда можно написать свою консоль, заредефайнив console.log, console.warn, console.error, window.onerror и еще что-то по вкусу. Получится довольно простой инструмент, которого достаточно в большинстве случаев.

Очень примитивный пример:

var customConsole = {
    log: function(message) {
        this.add(message, 'info');
    },
    warn: function(message) {
        this.add(message, 'warning');
    },
    error: function(message, source, file) {
        this.add([message, source, file].join('<br>'), 'error');
    },
    add: function(message, type) {
        if (typeof message !== 'string') message = '<i>' + message + '</i>';
        document.getElementById('console').innerHTML += '<p class=' + type + '>' + message + '</p>';
    }
}

if (dev_console) {
    window.console = customConsole;
    window.onerror = function(message, source, file) {
        console.error(message, source, file);
    };
}

Допиливайте по вкусу и потребностям.

Тестирование сайта, запущенного на локальном веб-сервере

Все просто. Для начала понадобится wi-fi роутер. Подключаем все устройства и компьютер с веб-сервером к роутеру, получаем подсеть. В настройках сети на компьютере можно для удобства выставить руками фиксированный IP, так как автоматический имеет тенденцию внезапно поменяться, после чего приходится заново вбивать закладки на всех устройствах. Этот же IP прописываем в конфиге вебсервера, например для энжинкса:

server {
    ...

    listen   192.168.1.5:4000;
    listen   127.0.0.1:4000;

    ...
}

Все, можно заходить с железок.

Если сервер запущен на виртуальной машине, выдаем ей сетевой мост (из настроек программы виртуализации). Машинка получает IP в подсети роутера, используем его для доступа к сайту как с железок, так и из хост-системы.

Тестирование в браузерах с серверсайд-рендерингом

То есть в Опере Мини. Ну и в таком треше, как Ови, если у кого руки дойдут.

Проблема здесь в том, что с локального сервера сайт, конечно, загрузить не получится. Сайт должен быть виден из интернета.

Мой выход — сделать на хостинг-сервере тестовый поддомен с http-авторизацией и периодически пуллить туда актуальную версию сайта гитом. Сайт останется доступен извне, при этом под паролем. Пример конфига http-авторизации (на этот раз для апача):

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ...

    <Location />
        Deny from all
        Allow from #YOUR IP HERE
        AuthUserFile /etc/apache2/users
        AuthName testdomain
        AuthType Basic
        Satisfy Any
        require valid-user
    </Location>

    ...
</VirtualHost>

После Allow from можно указать свой IP, чтобы упростить доступ к домену из обычных браузеров.

О добавлении пар юзер/пароль можно почитать в документации апача. Если коротко, htpasswd -cm /etc/apache2/users username спросит у вас пароль, после чего сделает файл по указанному пути и создаст там юзера username с зашифрованным в MD5 паролем. Будьте осторожны, флаг -c перезаписывает существующий файл.

TL;DR

Тестируйте ваши сайты на максимальном количестве доступных железок и эмуляторов. Используйте новые фишки HTML5 и возможности конкретных устройств, но не забывайте о грамотных фоллбеках.

Ссылки по теме

Опубликовано